Add Gravy and Furikake

Instant Mashed Popotoes Under Rice

Working with instant foods makes me feel like I’m a college student again.

Here’s what you’ll need:

For Mashed Popotoes:

  • 1 Cup of Frozen Peas
  • 1 Cup of Frozen Corn
  • 2 Packages of Instant Noodles (This recipe used Indomie Mi Goreng)
  • 1 Packet of Instant Loaded Mashed Potatoes

For Grilled Eggplant:

  • 1 Eggplant
  • 2 Tablespoon of Soy Sauce
  • 3 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
  • 1 Teaspoon of Garlic Salt

Miscellaneous:

  • Bacon
  • Pre-made Gravy (I had leftovers)
  • Cooked White Rice
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Furikake

In a large pot, add the frozen peas and corn into 4 cups of water. Heat to a boil.

Peas and Corn
Peas and Corn

While waiting for the water to boil, skin and slice eggplant.

Mix together soy sauce, olive oil and garlic salt in a small bowl. Dip and marinate the slices of eggplant in the mixture.

Fry bacon and eggplant in an air fryer for 12 minutes at 320 degrees Fahrenheit.

Air Fry Bacon and Eggplant
Air Fry Bacon and Eggplant

Once the water is boiling, add instant noodles and seasoning packets.

Allow the instant noodles to soften. Add instant mashed potatoes and mix thoroughly. Continue to mix until the instant noodles and mashed potatoes thicken.

Spread the mixture on a plate and create an indentation. Add rice into a bowl and put onto the indentation. Plate eggplant and bacon.

Cover rice in gravy and garnish with furikake.

Add Gravy and Furikake
Add Gravy and Furikake

Bonus Recipe

If you have some of the mixture left, refrigerate it. Shape into a flat oval shape. Cover in breadcrumbs.

Cover in oil and fry in air fryer at 320 degrees for 25 minutes.

Fried Popotoes
Fried Popotoes

I’m not sure why I made this. I bought a bunch of random instant stuff and had the bright idea to combine them. Adding rice and gravy on top of everything also was somewhat of a mistake. I ended up really tired and full after eating this.

Overall, I would rate it at 8/10. I gave myself too much and it just had far too many carbs. But it did not taste bad. I think the best part of the dish was the air fried eggplant. The slightly charred soy sauce flavor was great. I ended making it separately and just eating it with rice the next day.

Published by

nghia2daizzo

I could be considered a chef.

2 thoughts on “Instant Mashed Popotoes Under Rice”

Leave a comment